Final candidate list up

The nomination period has finished and the final candidate list is up (PDF). Unexpectedly, we have a race for the mayors chair, with incumbent Chris Causton running against Ronald Telfer, for which I can find no information about.

For the six seat council, five incumbents have decided to running again: Hazel Braithwaite, Allan Cassidy, Pam Copley, John Herbert and Nils Jensen.

For the lone seat left over, there are four of us, including myself, Michelle Kirby, Tara Ney and Chris Smith. Nine candidates is slightly down from 2005, when 12 people ran.

It should be an interesting race. I look forward to debating everybody at an all candidates meeting, once one gets organized. It is nice to see so many new people stepping up with such similar ideas about climate change, housing and more. It shows how out of touch some of the current councillors are.